Using Variables as Action Target

Hi everyone, I’m very new to Intuiface and am coming from a long history of multimedia development, so, my model of how this should work might be off.

I am building an educational kiosk that works as a glossary of terms for a museum exhibit. There will be a list of words and when you tap on one, it pops up a description and photo. The descriptions have some links in them to other glossary terms. There is a home button that takes you back to the main list of words.

I’ve created one scene with multiple layers of content (the descriptions and pictures) that are triggered by buttons and animate off and on. I tried using multiple scenes but the media was loading at different times (it would appear on the screen in the layer order).

In order to reuse some elements, Instead of x buttons for x glossary terms, I’d like to have one home button that when pressed, fades out the current layer, and fades in the menu layer. In my mind, I would set a variable (like the Interface Asset Global Variable) and then have the Action Target be the value of the variable. I understand how binding works but there doesn’t seem to be a place to bind the variable to the targets in Scene Structure->Visibility and Effects->Hide. If I had to put a button on each layer, I’d try and use a this to reference the current layer but that doesn’t seem possible.

I might be thinking of this all wrong and my mental model could be flawed. I’m open to the best way to do this!

Thanks in Advance!

Hi Greg @gxwalsh and welcome to Intuiface community!

First, there’s no “wrong” way of thinking in my opinion, especially when we talk about design. But there is definitely an “Intuiface way” of thinking that can make things easier.

Before going further in your question, I’d recommend you to have a look at

• this article showing how to display a summary list (your glossary terms) with a detail view (the associated photo & description).