Excel IA - Requested Updates (Shopping Cart)

In my opinion, keeping a product list in unison with a shopping cart is a common feature - I have personally built tons. However, the process is always far more complicated than it has to be, due to some technical limitations.

One of the main reasons is this: The shopping cart allows you to add/remove items by ID. But the Excel IA does NOT let you add/remove/update items by an ID. You can ONLY remove/update a cell or row by the ROW Number…which we all know…CHANGES depending on filtering. (Ex: if you filter out 15 of 30 rows, all of your index numbering is no longer sequential)

Why is it like this? Is this a limitation of Excel? If a collection can scroll to an item by it’s name, why can’t the IA remove an item by the value of an ID field that we create?

Let me be frank - I’ve been designing with Intuiface for many years, and I have documents of solutions that I reference. I’m not looking for work-around ideas here (unless you know a way to update/remove row by ID in Excel). I’m hoping some community members can spring some support for this…the Excel IA can probably do much more, which would save us all tons of time. I personally think the option to Update or Remove a record by ID is a great place to start. Heck, even if we have to tell the Excel which column has the ID’s, that’s fine.

I know Intuiface is working hard on the HCMS…but Excel is still a relevant, powerful tool. I gave a shopping cart example here, but added functionality in Excel will go far beyond a the shopping cart.

What does everyone think? Can we get behind this? Any other ideas of what to add to the Excel IA? Am I becoming old and grizzled?

• YES, please add update/remove record by ID for Excel. And more.
  • NO, don’t need
0 voters

@tosolini @Louie @Seb

I’d like to second @AlexB in his request, even if my use cases haven’t been strongly impacted yet by the lack of the add / remove record by ID in Excel.